Régénération des tissus mous

FAVORISER LA RÉGÉNÉRATION

Qu'est-ce que la régénération des tissus mous ?

Notre objectif à REGEDENT est de fournir des solutions pour traiter la cause de l'infection parodontale et péri-implantaire (biofilm) et de s'assurer que les tissus nettoyés soient dans le meilleur état possible pour la régénération. Le site désinfecté est régénéré pour assurer la santé des tissus à long terme. Nos solutions régénératives permettent à la biologie de reconstruire la structure fibreuse complexe autour des dents (cément, LPD, os) ou autour des implants tout en minimisant l'inconfort du patient.

La dentisterie régénérative a une approche basée sur la compréhension des mécanismes sous-jacents du développement de la dent et des processus biologiques de guérison et de réparation afin d'exploiter le potentiel de guérison des tissus dentaires [1]. Autour de l'implant, l'attachement épithélial est très similaire à celui de la dent en ayant, par exemple, la capacité d'adhérer à un matériau bio-inerte tel que le titane [2, 3, 4].

La grande différence entre les tissus mous péri-implantaires et parodontaux est l'alignement des fibres de collagène de l'attache du tissu conjonctif. Dans le parodonte, les cellules du LPD sont organisées de façon orthogonale à la racine de la dent. En revanche, dans le tissu péri-implantaire, elles sont parallèles et présentent une vascularisation moindre en raison de l'absence du desmodonte. Autour des dents, la vascularisation provient du périoste et des vaisseaux corticaux [5]. Le parodonte est composé de la gencive, du tissu conjonctif sous-jacent, du cément, de l'os alvéolaire et du ligament parodontal entre le cément et l'os alvéolaire.

Les maladies parodontales sont très répandues dans les populations adultes du monde entier, avec des taux de prévalence d'environ 50% [6]. Elle se caractérise par des lésions irréversibles des tissus de soutien de la dent, notamment l'os alvéolaire, le ligament parodontal (LDP) et le cément [7]. La thérapie traditionnelle consiste à éliminer les biofilms pathogènes et à supprimer l'inflammation pour arrêter la dégradation des tissus parodontaux [8]. Une maladie parodontale mal contrôlée entraîne des défauts d'infra-osseux, une furcation et potentiellement une perte de dents [9]. La régénération du LPD est une condition essentielle de la régénération parodontale. Les fibres de collagène régénérées et hautement organisées jouent leur rôle fonctionnel pour la santé dentaire [10].

En implantologie, l'interface des tissus mous péri-implantaires joue un rôle important dans le succès à long terme des restaurations implanto-portées [12]. Les implants dentaires ne bénéficient pas de la vascularisation du ligament parodontal et, par conséquent, les tissus environnants ont un apport sanguin limité par rapport aux dents naturelles [13,14]. Le contrôle et la prévention de la maladie péri-implantaire limitent le risque de récession des tissus mous, entraînant une mucosite, voire une péri-implantite.

Les dix signes d'une régénération réussie des tissus mous

  1. Protocole de traitement simple, efficace et prévisible.
  2. Stabilisation rapide du caillot sanguin
  3. Utilisation d'un matériau biocompatible
  4. Minimiser le processus inflammatoire (douleur, inconfort, enflement)
  5. Angiogenèse rapide
  6. Cicatrisation sans incident
  7. Effacement de la cicatrice pour une meilleure esthétique
  8. Éviter les re-infections
  9. Stabilité au niveau des tissus
  10. Satisfaction des patients et des praticiens

Notre solution pour la régénération des tissus mous

Hyadent BG est conçu pour favoriser la régénération [1,2], tout en étant facile à utiliser. En effet, le gel peut être appliqué sur n'importe quelle surface dentaire, sans qu'il soit nécessaire de préparer et/ou de sécher les surfaces [3].

Hyadent BG contribue à la stabilisation du caillot sanguin. Son acide hyaluronique attire les facteurs de croissance naturellement présents dans le sang et favorise la vascularisation. Il a été démontré que Hyadent BG a un effet significatif sur la prolifération du cément, du ligament parodontal (LPD) et de l'os alvéolaire [4-6].

La réticulation de l'acide hyaluronique prolonge son effet positif sur la prolifération cellulaire, en maintenant son caractère souche, tandis que son poids moléculaire élevé coordonne le processus inflammatoire (moins d'inflammation, d'inconfort, de douleur, de résorption) [7-10].

Pendant le processus de cicatrisation des tissus mous, la propriété bactériostatique de Hyadent BG contribue à améliorer la prévisibilité du traitement global [11-12]. L'accélération de la fermeture des plaies est un avantage pour les patients, qu'ils soient en bonne santé ou à risque [9,11].

En restaurant l'aspect esthétique, mais aussi la structure fonctionnelle autour de la dent, Hyadent BG est considéré comme régénérant plutôt que réparant [1,2,11,13].

Pour en savoir plus sur la régénération des tissus durs, voir ici.

Récession des tissus mous

Récession profonde de classe II de Miller traitée par le Prof. Anton Sculean avec un tunnel coronaire modifié comprenant une greffe de tissu conjonctif avec Hyadent BG

Lambeau coronaire avancé d'une récession gingivale traité par le Prof. Andrea Pilloni

Mucosite

Le traitement de la mucosite par le Dr Marisa Roncati avec les Clean & Seal concept de traitement

Défauts infraboniaux

Défaut étroit intra-osseux traité par le Prof. Andrea Pilloni

Furcation

Récession mandibulaire multiple (RT1) avec furcation traitée par le Dr Sofia Aroca

Littérature

  1. Longaker T et al. ‘Studies in Fetal Wound Healing: V. A prolonged presence of hyaluronic acid characterizes fetal wound healing’ Ann. Surg. 1991; April:292–296. 
  2. Mast BA et al. ‘Hyaluronic Acid Modulates Proliferation, Collagen and Protein Synthesis of Cultured Fetal Fibroblast’ Matrix, 1993;13:441–446.)
  3. Pilloni A, Rojas M A, Marini L, Paola Russo, Sculean A, Iacono R. Healing of intrabony defects following regenerative surgery by means of single-flap approach in conjunction with either hyaluronic acid or an enamel matrix derivative: a 24-month randomized controlled clinical trial. Clin Oral Invest https://doi.org/10.1007/s00784-021-03822-x
  4. Fujioka-Kobayashi M, Müller H, Mueller A, Lussi A, Sculean A, Schmidlin PR, Miron RJ ‘In vitro effects of hyaluronic acid on human periodontal ligament cells’ BMC Oral Health (2017) 17:44 DOI 10.1186/s12903-017-0341-1
  5. Shirakata,Y., Imafuji, T., Nakamura T., Kawakami, Y., Shinohara, Y., Noguchi K., Pilloni, A., Sculean, A.. Periodontal wound healing/regeneration of two-wall intrabony defects following reconstructive surgery with cross-linked hyaluronic acid-gel with or without a collagen matrix: a preclinical study in dogs. An experimental study in dogs. Quintessence Int 2021;52:2-10
  6. Shirakata Y, Nakamura T, Kawakami Y, et al. Healing of buccal gingival recessions following treatment with coronally advanced flap alone or combined with a cross-linked hyaluronic acid-gel. An experimental study in dogs. Journal of Clinical Periodontology. 2021 Jan. DOI: 10.1111/jcpe.13433.
  7. Bayoum, A., Nadershah, M., Albandar, A., Alsulaimani, B.S., Sankour, I., Gadi, L., Osama, O.A., Tayeb, R., Quqandi, R., Dabroom, W., & Merdad, Y. (2018). The Effect of Cross-Linked Hyaluronic Acid in Surgical Extraction of Impacted Mandibular Third Molars. International journal of dentistry and oral health, 4.
  8. Aya KL, Stern R. Hyaluronan in wound healing: rediscovering a major player. Wound Repair Regen. 2014;22(5):579-593. doi:10.1111/wrr.12214 
  9. Kim JJ, Song HY, Ben Amara H, Kyung-Rim K, Koo KT. Hyaluronic Acid Improves Bone Formation in Extraction Sockets With Chronic Pathology: A Pilot Study in Dogs. J Periodontol. 2016;87(7):790-795. doi:10.1902/jop.2016.150707  
  10. Yıldırım S, Özener HÖ, Doğan B, Kuru B. Effect of topically applied hyaluronic acid on pain and palatal epithelial wound healing: An examiner-masked, randomized, controlled clinical trial. J Periodontol. 2018;89(1):36-45. doi:10.1902/jop.2017.170105
  11. Asparuhova M, Kiryak D, Eliezer M, Mihov D, Sculean A. ‘Activity of two hyaluronan preparations on primary human oral fibroblasts’. J Periodontal Res 2018 Sep 27. Epub 2018 Sep 27
  12. Eliezer M, Imber JC, Sculean A, Pandis N, Teich S, ‘Hyaluronic acid as adjunctive to non-surgical and surgical periodontal therapy: a systematic review and meta-analysis’, Clin O Inv 2019; doi: s00784-019-03012-w)
  13. Salbach J et al. ‘Regenerative potential of glycosaminoglycans for skin and bone.’ J Mol Med 2012;90:625–635.

Soft tissue regeneration

EMPOWERING REGENERATION

What is soft tissue regeneration?

Our focus at REGEDENT is to provide solutions to address the cause of the periodontal and peri-implant infection (biofilm) and ensure that the cleaned disinfected site is regenerated to ensure long-term tissue health. Our regenerative solutions empower biology to rebuild the complex fibrous structure around teeth (cementum, PDL, alveolar bone) or around implants while minimizing the patient’s discomfort.

Regenerative dentistry has an approach based on understanding the underlying mechanisms of tooth development and the biological processes of healing and repair to leverage the healing potential of the dental tissues [1]. Around the implant, the epithelial attachment is very similar to the one around the tooth by having, for example, the capability to adhere to bio-inert material such as titanium [2, 3, 4].

The big difference between peri-implant and periodontal soft tissues is the alignment of the connective tissue attachment’s collagen fibers. In the periodontium, the PDL cells are organized orthogonally to the tooth root. In contrast, in peri-implant tissue, they run parallel and show a lesser vascularization due to the desmodont’s absence. Around teeth, the vascularization comes from the periosteum and cortical vessels [5]. The periodontium is composed of the gingiva, the underlying connective tissue, the cementum, the alveolar bone, and the periodontal ligament between the cementum and alveolar bone.

Periodontal disease occurrence is highly prevalent in adult-aged populations worldwide, with prevalence rates around 50% [6]. It is characterized by irreversible damage in the tooth-supporting tissues, including the alveolar bone, periodontal ligament (PDL), and cementum [7]. Traditional therapy is to remove the pathogenic biofilms and suppress the inflammation to stop further periodontal tissue degradation [8]. Poorly controlled periodontal disease leads to infrabony defects, furcation, and potentially and tooth loss [9]. The regeneration of PDL is an essential requirement for periodontal regeneration. The regenerated highly organized collagen fibers play their functional role for tooth health [10].

In implantology, the peri-implant soft tissue interface plays an important role in implant-supported restorations’ long-term success [12]. Dental implants do not benefit from the periodontal ligament vasculature, and therefore, the surrounding tissue has a limited blood supply compared to natural teeth [13,14]. Controlling and preventing peri-implant disease limits the risk of soft tissue recession, leading to mucositis or even peri-implantitis.

Ten Signs of successful soft tissue regeneration

  1. User friendly, cost-effective, predictable treatment protocol
  2. Rapid blood clot stabilization
  3. Use of biocompatible material
  4. Minimize inflammatory process (swelling, discomfort)
  5. Rapid angiogenesis
  6. Uneventful wound healing
  7. Scarless effects for better esthetics
  8. Avoid infection relapses
  9. Stable tissue and bone level
  10. Patient and clinician satisfaction

Our solution for soft tissue regeneration

Hyadent BG is designed to support regeneration [1,2], while being user-friendly. Indeed, the gel can be applied on any tooth surface, with no pre-requisite for prepared and/or dried surfaces [3].

Hyadent BG contributes to stabilizing the blood clot. Its hyaluronic acid attracts the growth factors naturally present in the blood and promotes vascularization. It was shown that Hyadent BG has a significant effect on the proliferation of cementum, periodontal ligament (PDL), and alveolar bone [4-6].

The cross-linking of the hyaluronic acid extends its positive effect on cell proliferation, maintaining the stemness, while its high molecular weight coordinates the inflammatory process (less swelling, discomfort) [7-10].

During the soft tissue healing process, Hyadent BG’s bacteriostatic property contributes to enhancing the predictability of the overall treatment [11-12].  The acceleration of wound closure provides an upside to patients, healthy or at risk [9,11].

By rebuilding not only the esthetic, but also the functional structure around the tooth, Hyadent BG is considered to regenerate rather than repair [1,2,11,13].

To discover more about hard tissue regeneration, see here.

Soft tissue recession

Deep Miller class II recession treated by Prof Anton Sculean with a modified coronally advanced tunnel including conjunctive tissue graft with Hyadent BG

Coronally advanced flap of a gingival recession treated by Prof Andrea Pilloni

Mucositis

Mucositis treatment by Dr Marisa Roncati with the Clean & Seal treatment concept

Infrabony defects

Narrow infrabony defect treated defect by Prof Andrea Pilloni

Furcation

Multiple mandibular recession (RT1) with furcation treated by Dr Sofia Aroca

Literature

  1. Longaker T et al. ‘Studies in Fetal Wound Healing: V. A prolonged presence of hyaluronic acid characterizes fetal wound healing’ Ann. Surg. 1991; April:292–296. 
  2. Mast BA et al. ‘Hyaluronic Acid Modulates Proliferation, Collagen and Protein Synthesis of Cultured Fetal Fibroblast’ Matrix, 1993;13:441–446.)
  3. Pilloni A, Rojas M A, Marini L, Paola Russo, Sculean A, Iacono R. Healing of intrabony defects following regenerative surgery by means of single-flap approach in conjunction with either hyaluronic acid or an enamel matrix derivative: a 24-month randomized controlled clinical trial. Clin Oral Invest https://doi.org/10.1007/s00784-021-03822-x
  4. Fujioka-Kobayashi M, Müller H, Mueller A, Lussi A, Sculean A, Schmidlin PR, Miron RJ ‘In vitro effects of hyaluronic acid on human periodontal ligament cells’ BMC Oral Health (2017) 17:44 DOI 10.1186/s12903-017-0341-1
  5. Shirakata,Y., Imafuji, T., Nakamura T., Kawakami, Y., Shinohara, Y., Noguchi K., Pilloni, A., Sculean, A.. Periodontal wound healing/regeneration of two-wall intrabony defects following reconstructive surgery with cross-linked hyaluronic acid-gel with or without a collagen matrix: a preclinical study in dogs. An experimental study in dogs. Quintessence Int 2021;52:2-10
  6. Shirakata Y, Nakamura T, Kawakami Y, et al. Healing of buccal gingival recessions following treatment with coronally advanced flap alone or combined with a cross-linked hyaluronic acid-gel. An experimental study in dogs. Journal of Clinical Periodontology. 2021 Jan. DOI: 10.1111/jcpe.13433.
  7. Bayoum, A., Nadershah, M., Albandar, A., Alsulaimani, B.S., Sankour, I., Gadi, L., Osama, O.A., Tayeb, R., Quqandi, R., Dabroom, W., & Merdad, Y. (2018). The Effect of Cross-Linked Hyaluronic Acid in Surgical Extraction of Impacted Mandibular Third Molars. International journal of dentistry and oral health, 4.
  8. Aya KL, Stern R. Hyaluronan in wound healing: rediscovering a major player. Wound Repair Regen. 2014;22(5):579-593. doi:10.1111/wrr.12214 
  9. Kim JJ, Song HY, Ben Amara H, Kyung-Rim K, Koo KT. Hyaluronic Acid Improves Bone Formation in Extraction Sockets With Chronic Pathology: A Pilot Study in Dogs. J Periodontol. 2016;87(7):790-795. doi:10.1902/jop.2016.150707  
  10. Yıldırım S, Özener HÖ, Doğan B, Kuru B. Effect of topically applied hyaluronic acid on pain and palatal epithelial wound healing: An examiner-masked, randomized, controlled clinical trial. J Periodontol. 2018;89(1):36-45. doi:10.1902/jop.2017.170105
  11. Asparuhova M, Kiryak D, Eliezer M, Mihov D, Sculean A. ‘Activity of two hyaluronan preparations on primary human oral fibroblasts’. J Periodontal Res 2018 Sep 27. Epub 2018 Sep 27
  12. Eliezer M, Imber JC, Sculean A, Pandis N, Teich S, ‘Hyaluronic acid as adjunctive to non-surgical and surgical periodontal therapy: a systematic review and meta-analysis’, Clin O Inv 2019; doi: s00784-019-03012-w)
  13. Salbach J et al. ‘Regenerative potential of glycosaminoglycans for skin and bone.’ J Mol Med 2012;90:625–635.